Find a volunteer opportunity

Available Commission Grants


West Virginia Citizen Corps

West Virginia Business Volunteer Council


2011 Governor's Service Award Nominees

Volunteers are not just the heart of activities; they are also the heart of each community. The following individuals, organizations and businesses were nominated for a 2011 Governor's Service Award, honoring those who illustrate the true meaning of volunteerism.

(***) Indicates Winners

Nominee Name
Youth 6-11
  Courtney Campbell Morgan Angela Gray
  Sydney Grace Hardy Hardy Lisa Kesecker
  Joseph Sprouse Wood Justina James
Youth 12-14
  ***Emily Brown Kanawha Kizmet Chandler
Youth 15-18
  Laurie Farnswoth Wood Mary Farnsworth 
  ***Cody Gallagher Marion Virginia Gallagher
  Afsheen Misaghi Kanawha Merdith Chapman
Young Adult 19-30
  Alicia Matheny Wood Helen Matheny
  Emil Suder Randolph Gloria Payne
Adult 31-59
  ***Geoff Bourne Kanawha Amy McLaughlin
  Daniel Cummings Ohio Melanie Cummings
  Beverly Evert Hampshire Gayle Smith
  Elizabeth Hupp Monongalia Robert Hartley 
  Jennifer Johnson Kanawha Christopher Johnson
  ***Theodore "Teddy" Johnson Cabell Curt Nethercutt
  Kristen Marino Jefferson Eugene Marino 
  Agnes Queen Lewis Mike Queen
  Karen Shall Cabell Brian Booth
  Bobby Warner Kanawha Ashlee Walls
Senior 60+
  ***Imogene Bennington Kanawha Margaret Taylor
  Mary Bragg Raleigh Margaret Ann O'Neal
  Walter Campbell Kanawha Amy McLaughlin
  Vicki Connor Monongalia Trella Greaser
  ***James "Jim"  Crews Wood Judy Sjostedt
  Gerry Cross Brooke Angela Kocher
  R.B. Foster Boone T. Mullins
  Susan Gainer Monongalia Brooks Gainer
  Cheryl Gregory Berkeley Pam Ouimette
  Jerry Hopkins Wirt Lewis Peck
  Nadine Idleman Grant Dorene Kitzmiller
  Michael Kelley Wood Kristine Green
  Jordan McVey Fayette Laura Sevy
  Ott Meale Marion  Vicki Buby
  Diana Mendel Brooke Emma Weimer
  Denver Mitchell Logan Moss Burgess
  Carolyn Orr Marion  Vicki Buby
  Annie Otto Berkeley Teresa Warnick
  Gloria Payne Randolph Emil Suder
  Ida Pototti Raleigh Margaret Robinson
  Betsy Shamblin Kanawha Stephanie Hyre
  Veronica Taylor Fayette Anita Ennis
  Dan Van Belleghem Jefferson Good Shepherd Caregivers
National Service
  Ruth Hoover Tyler Tricia Feldmeier
  Angela Rexroad Kanawha John Porter
Lifetime Achievement
  Sandra Barkey Kanawha Carolyn Wesley
  Charles Caserty Cabell Chadwick Ketchum
  Woodrow "Woody" Duba Raleigh Rachel McBride
  Daniel Farley Mercer Alberta Slack
  ***Anna Gray Raleigh Elizabeth Fisher
  ***William Klenk Harrison Helen Jones
  Christine McClelland Monongalia Michelle Wakeley
  Nancy Potter Kanawha Betty Alexander
  Glynda Walker Ohio Linda Vidoni
  Dodson Family Kanawha Adrien Gibbs
  Don and Peg Griffith Wood Susan Fought
  Glen and Grace Lively Ohio Carolyn Heath
  Alice and Joe Sabatino Randolph Phyllis Baxter
  American Legion Post 106 Wyoming Gary Dixon
  ***Create Buckhannon Upshur S.E. Foster
  Friends of Twin Branch McDowell Travis Cooper
  ***Good Shepherd Interfaith Volunteer Caregivers  Jefferson Paula Marrone-Reese
  Literacy Volunteers of Harrison County Harrison Kim Payne
  Mountain State Cruisers Morgan Chuck Hampe
  Mountaineer Spay Neuter Assistance Program Monongalia Brooks Gainer
  Nature Conservancy of West Virginia Volunteers Kanawha Brooks McCabe
  Pleasants County Solid Waste Authority Pleasants Claude Marra
  Seniors at Senior Monongalians Monongalia Sandra Headley
  Wetzel Co. Emergency Ambulance  Authority Wetzel Jimmy Colvin
  Wheeling Police Department Volunteers Ohio Jessica Puglisi-Sanders
  Winding Gulf Restoration Organization Raleigh Rachel McBride
  WV Asthma Coalition, Clincal Asthma Management Kanawha Lindsay Elkins
  WV K-9 Search and Rescue Kanawha Kim Rowley
  WV Rosie the Riveters/Thanks Plain and Simple Kanawha Christopher Button

For more information on Governor's Service Awards, contact Moya Doneghy at (304) 558-0111.

To view a list of the winners, click here.


Volunteer West Virginia: The State's Commission for National and Community Service © 2009